How to dress for cross-country skiing

 

Choose the right outfit for La Transju by Dæhlie!

 

Tip number one:

The first piece of advice we can give you seems obvious, but you have to think about adapting your outfit according to the weather and the intensity of your effort. You must avoid at all costs to find yourself cold, or with 2 jackets hung around your waist and gloves in your pockets!

Daehlie Jacket

Tip number two:

Our second piece of advice is for the more adventurous, those who have committed to the long distances, 50 and 70km. You will have to be able to manage your stops so as not to catch cold before setting off again.

 

We advise you to choose a first layer containing merino wool to stay warm and dry during the effort and when you take a break to refuel. Indeed, the wool keeps warm even if it is a little wet, and this, for a long time.

 

If you tend to sweat a lot, you can take a spare thermal top, you'll be very happy to put it on halfway through the race if you've cooled off a bit!

If it's really cold, you can take an extra microfleece to cover up more during your breaks.

Dæhlie Jacket

Tip number 3: Which outfit for which athlete?

The holding of the winners

For those who are here to win (or who aim at the leading pack?), lightness is the key! We recommend a race suit, with a light and highly ventilated first layer, a headband or a mesh cap to absorb sweat and light leather gloves.

Ideal outfit:

Racesuit OBERSTDORF

Challengers' outfit

For performers, you should choose a light, technical outfit that provides protection and optimal ventilation. We will opt for a jacket with a membrane on the front and lighter under the arms as well as in the back, tights or fitted pants for more ergonomics, a first layer in synthetic or merino blend. For accessories, synthetic headband/cap and gloves not too thick.

 

Ideal outfit:

Challenge Jacket

The Ski-Plaisir outfit

For those who have not set themselves a goal other than to have fun on skis, we advise you to cover up more and opt for a jacket with better protection, a warmer thermal and thicker pants. Take gloves with which you are sure not to be cold, and a cap made of merino wool, for its comfort, softness and insulation.

Ideal outfit:

Kikut outfit
Finally, don't forget to take something to hydrate and fill up your energy, it would be silly to have a hypo in the middle of the spruce trees on the D-Day 😊 😊

Comment s'habiller pour la pratique du ski de fond

 

Choisir la bonne tenue pour La Transju par Dæhlie !

 

Conseil numéro 1 :

Le premier conseil qu’on peut vous donner paraît sans doute évident, mais il faut penser à adapter sa tenue en fonction de la météo et de l’intensité de votre effort. Il faut à tout prix éviter de se retrouver frigorifié, ou avec 2 vestes accrochées autour de la taille et les gants dans les poches !

Veste Daehlie

Conseil numéro 2 :

Notre deuxième conseil concerne les plus téméraires, ceux qui ont engagé les grandes distances, 50 et 70km. Il faudra être capable de gérer vos arrêts pour ne pas prendre froid avant de repartir.

 

Nous vous conseillons d’opter pour une première couche contenant de la laine mérinos pour rester au chaud et au sec pendant l’effort et lorsque vous faites une pause pour vous ravitailler. En effet, la laine tient chaud même si elle est un peu humide, et cela, pendant un long moment.

 

Si vous avez tendance à beaucoup transpirer, vous pouvez prendre un haut thermique de rechange, vous serez très heureux de le mettre à mi-parcours si vous vous êtes un peu refroidi !

S’il fait vraiment froid, vous pouvez prendre une micropolaire supplémentaire pour vous couvrir davantage lors de vos pauses.

Veste Dæhlie

Conseil numéro 3 : Quelle tenue pour quel sportif ?

La tenue des winners

Pour ceux qui sont là pour la gagne (ou qui visent le Peloton de tête ?), il faut de la légèreté avant tout ! On conseillera un racesuit, avec une première couche légère et hyper ventilée, un bandeau ou bonnet en mesh qui absorbera la sueur et des gants légers en cuire.

Tenue idéale :

Racesuit OBERSTDORF

La tenue des challengers

Pour les performeurs, il faudra choisir une tenue légère, technique, qui assure protection et une ventilation optimale. On optera pour une veste avec une membrane sur l’avant et plus légère sous les bras ainsi que dans le dos, un collant ou pantalon ajusté pour plus d’ergonomie, une première couche en synthétique ou mélange de mérinos. Pour les accessoires, bandeau/bonnet en synthétique et des gants pas trop épais.

 

Tenue idéale :

Veste Challenge

La tenue Ski-Plaisir

Pour ceux qui ne se sont pas fixés d’objectif à part prendre du plaisir sur les skis, on vous conseille de vous couvrir davantage et d’opter pour une veste avec une meilleure protection, un thermique plus chaud et un pantalon plus épais. Prenez des gants avec lesquels vous êtes sûr de ne pas avoir froid, et un bonnet à base de laine mérinos, pour son confort, sa douceur et son côté isolant.

Tenue idéale :

Tenue Kikut
Enfin, n’oubliez pas de prendre de quoi vous hydrater et faire le plein d’énergie, ça serait bête de faire une hypo au milieu des épicéas le Jour J 😊 😊