The birth of a legend - The Transjurassienne :

The Transjurassienne, was born in 1979 under the name Progressime.

This initiative was born from the passion of Jacky Mandrillon, journalist at the Progrès, Georges Berthet, president of the regional ski committee of the Jura, the clubs and the communes covered by the Transjurassienne. This race was born from the desire to offer a common event to amateur skiers but also to athletes practicing the discipline at the highest international level.

Since its creation, many participants have come from all continents to take part in the queen of long distances in France, in this so particular and warm atmosphere that is the crossing of the villages, in a true postcard decor.

Progressime du Jura

A race for everyone:

The Transju is 7 events, spread over 2 days, in classic or skating, over different distances, designed for cross-country skiers looking for a challenge as well as for the most seasoned skiers.

The beauty of the sites and the difficulties of a long and varied course, 70 km between valleys and forests, have contributed to create the legend of the Transjurassienne and to make it the unmissable meeting place for true cross-country ski enthusiasts.

History of La Transju

A festive and friendly race:

Its unique route, the beauty of the landscapes, the crossing of the Massif's villages, the proximity of the public, the presence of more than 1000 volunteers make the Transjurassienne a friendly and engaging race. Everywhere along the route there is a party, with entertainment, refreshment stands, clarinet concerts... the welcome is comparable to that of a stage in the Tour de France!

The initial 76 km route was reduced to 68 km in 2015, it now links Lamoura (Jura) and Mouthe (Doubs), passing through the villages of Prémanon, Les Rousses, Bois-d'Amont, Les Ministres, Bellefontaine, Chapelle-des-Bois, Le Pré Poncet, Chaux-Neuve and Petite-Chaux.

"What do you mean, you're a cross-country skier and you've never done the Transju?"

A mythical race in the world of cross-country skiing, the Transju is an obligatory event, a must in the calendar of long-distance skiers from France and elsewhere. Indeed, the Transju has also acquired a real international reputation, being recognized as the only French stage of the prestigious Worldloppet since 1980.

Previously included in the World Cup program, the race saw the participation of the legend of world cross-country skiing Bjørn Dæhlie (12 Olympic medals, 17 medals in the world championships) present after his victory in the 50Km at the Olympic Games in Alberville in 1992, but also in the 1996 edition

History of La Transju

What about La Transju today? 

Even if the Transjurassienne remains the driving force of the association, the Transju brand's mission is now to promote the sustainable development of the Jura mountains through outdoor events aimed at the greatest number of people through a four-season practice that includes the Transju Jeunes and the Transjurassienne in the winter, the Transju Trail in the spring, and the Transju Cyclo at the end of the summer

The Transju Trail in the Jura Mountains in June
Start of the Transju cross-country ski race in France in the Jura

La naissance d’une légende – La Transjurassienne :

La Transjurassienne, est née en 1979 sous l’appellation Progressime .

Cette initiative est née par la passion de  Jacky Mandrillon, journaliste au Progrès, de Georges Berthet, président du comité régional de ski du Jura, des clubs et des communes parcourues par la Transjurassienne. Cette course est ainsi née de la volonté de proposer une épreuve commune aux skieurs amateurs mais aussi aux athlètes pratiquant la discipline au plus haut niveau international.

Depuis sa création, de nombreux participants sont venus de tous les continents pour participer à la reine des longues distances en France, dans cette ambiance si particulière et chaleureuse qu’est la traversée des villages, dans un véritable décor de carte postale.

Progressime du Jura

Une course taillée pour tout le monde :

La Transju c’est 7 épreuves, réparties sur 2 jours, en classique ou en skating, sur différentes distances taillées pour les fondeurs et fondeuses en quête de challenge comme pour les fondus de la glisse les plus aguerris.

La beauté des sites et les difficultés d’un parcours long et varié, 70 km entre combes et forêts, ont contribué à créer la légende de La Transjurassienne et à en faire le rendez-vous incontournable des vrais amateurs de ski de fond.

Histoire la Transju

Une course festive et conviviale :

Son tracé unique, la beauté des paysages, la traversée des villages du Massif, la proximité du public, la présence de plus de 1000 bénévoles font de La Transjurassienne une course conviviale et attachante. Partout sur le parcours la fête est au rendez-vous, animations, ravitaillements, concerts de clarines… l’accueil est comparable à celui que l’on rencontre dans une étape du Tour de France !

Le parcours initial de 76 km a été réduit à 68 km en 2015, il relie dorénavant Lamoura (Jura) et Mouthe (Doubs), en passant par les villages de Prémanon, Les Rousses, Bois-d’Amont, Les Ministres, Bellefontaine, Chapelle-des-Bois, Le Pré Poncet, Chaux-Neuve et Petite-Chaux.

« Comment, tu fais du ski de fond et t’as jamais fait la Transju ? »

Course mythique dans l’univers du ski de fond, La Transju est un passage obligatoire, une date incontournable dans le calendrier des amateurs de longues distances qu’ils viennent de France ou d’ailleurs. En effet la Transju a aussi acquis une véritable renommée internationale, en étant reconnue comme unique étape française de la prestigieuse worldloppet depuis 1980.

Auparavant inscrite au programme de la coupe du monde, la course a vu participation de  la légende du ski de fond mondial Bjørn Dæhlie (12 médailles olympiques, 17 médailles aux championnats du monde) présent au lendemain de sa victoire sur le 50Km aux Jeux Olympique d’Alberville en 1992, mais aussi sur l’édition de 1996

Histoire la Transju

Et La Transju aujourd’hui ? 

Même si la Transjurassienne reste la locomotive de l’association, La marque Transju a désormais pour mission d’impulser un développement pérenne et durable des montagnes du Jura à travers des événements outdoor destinés au plus grand nombre par une pratique quatre saisons qui regroupent en hiver La Transju Jeunes et La Transjurassienne, au printemps La Transju Trail et en fin d’été la Transju Cyclo.

La Transju Trail incontournable dans les Montagnes du Jura en juin
Départ La Transju course de ski de fond en France dans le Jura